Greg C.
15 years ago
Somebody asked Tom Pelissero of the Green Bay Press Gazette about this play, and he provided a possible explanation. I don't buy it, but maybe this is how the officals saw it:

"It's a gray area, but here's how I interpret it -- if the defender makes contact with the player before he has two feet in, then that player is "going to the ground." So, that Tillman was on his back with only one foot down meant Jennings had to maintain possession to the ground. If Jennings took two steps and then Tillman hit him, different story."
blank
Nonstopdrivel
15 years ago
Actually, that makes complete sense to me. Thanks for that explanation.

By the way, I have been asking these questions because I couldn't see the play; I had to listen to the game on the radio.
UserPostedImage
dhazer
15 years ago
The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Pack93z
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:



That says nothing of establishing control based on a "football move or two steps"... that is for a player that is just coming down with the ball.. once the player establishes control.. two feet or "makes a football" move it is considered possession and control..
"The oranges are dry; the apples are mealy; and the papayas... I don't know what's going on with the papayas!"
dhazer
15 years ago
Well Jennings did not make a football move and he did end up on the ground thus it is the correct call




here is the closest thing to it he had 2 feet down and control but didnt maintain the ball incomplete pass


[youtube]HHldeWb83XE[/youtube]
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"dhazer" wrote:



The bolded part is what I found most interesting, considering contact with an opponent was the main reason they nullified possession + 3 steps and 1 toe drag.
UserPostedImage
dhazer
15 years ago
does anyone have a video of the play so we can watch it again?
Just Imagine this for the next 6-9 years. What a ride it will be 🙂 (PS, Zero should charge for this)
UserPostedImage
Zero2Cool
15 years ago

if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass '


And it was caught when his second foot hit the ground and he had possession an was not touched.
UserPostedImage
buckeyepackfan
15 years ago

Well Jennings did not make a football move and he did end up on the ground thus it is the correct call




here is the closest thing to it he had 2 feet down and control but didnt maintain the ball incomplete pass


[youtube]HHldeWb83XE[/youtube]

"dhazer" wrote:



Nope, not even close, Murphy stayed in the end zone, and was hit while catching the ball, he has to keep control throughout.

Jennings had 2 feet down, then a 3rd went out of the endzone that is when the defender swatted the ball.

Like I said earlier, to much confusion with interpretation of the rule, next time it happens I will bet it is called a TD.
I was addicted to The Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around!
buckeyepackfan
15 years ago

The rule and no it doesnt stop just because he got 2 feet down.

Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 51) states that if a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact with an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball after he touches the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. If he loses control of the ball, and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior to the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete.

"MassPackersFan" wrote:



The bolded part is what I found most interesting, considering contact with an opponent was the main reason they nullified possession + 3 steps and 1 toe drag.

"dhazer" wrote:



That is not the rule that should apply in this case, although it does look like that is what they made their judgement on.

Jennings never lost contol UNTIL HE WAS OUT OF THE ENDZONE, as soon as his second foot hit, the play should have been over,since it was in the endzone and was a td.

My thinking is this..we have all seen it a 100 times a player is hit at the goal line and extends the ball over the goal line as soon as the ball breaks the plane of the endzone with the player in control it is a TD, doesn't matter if a defender knocks it out of his hands, the instant he breaks the plane with the ball the play is over. As soon as GJ's 2nd foot touched the play should have been over.

Again interpetation of the rule...it is too vague, the call will be different next time it happens.
I was addicted to The Hokey Pokey, but I turned myself around!
Fan Shout
dfosterf (6h) : Eagles put an engraved Brazil flag on their super bowl rings
Zero2Cool (18-Jul) : Benton unsigned no more
Zero2Cool (17-Jul) : That's good analysis, yes you are getting old. It'd a blessing!
dfosterf (14-Jul) : *analysis* gettin' old
dfosterf (14-Jul) : One of the best analyisis I"ve ever watched at this time of an offseason
dfosterf (14-Jul) : Andy Herman interviewed Warren Sharp on his Pack a day podcast
packerfanoutwest (10-Jul) : Us Padres fans love it....But it'll be a Dodgers/Yankees World Series
Zero2Cool (9-Jul) : Brewers sweep Dodgers. Awesome
Mucky Tundra (6-Jul) : And James Flanigan is the grandson of Packers Super Bowl winner Jim Flanigan Sr.
Mucky Tundra (6-Jul) : Jerome Bettis and Jim Flanigans sons as well!
Zero2Cool (6-Jul) : Thomas Davis Jr is OLB, not WR. Oops.
Zero2Cool (6-Jul) : Larry Fitzgeral and Thomas Davis sons too. WR's as well.
Mucky Tundra (5-Jul) : Kaydon Finley, son of Jermichael Finley, commits to Notre Dame
dfosterf (3-Jul) : Make sure to send my props to him! A plus move!
Zero2Cool (3-Jul) : My cousin, yes.
dfosterf (3-Jul) : That was your brother the GB press gazette referenced with the red cross draft props thing, yes?
Zero2Cool (2-Jul) : Packers gonna unveil new throwback helmet in few weeks.
Mucky Tundra (2-Jul) : I know it's Kleiman but this stuff writes itself
Mucky Tundra (2-Jul) : "Make sure she signs the NDA before asking for a Happy Ending!"
Mucky Tundra (2-Jul) : @NFL_DovKleiman Powerful: Deshaun Watson is taking Shedeur Sanders 'under his wing' as a mentor to the Browns QBs
Zero2Cool (30-Jun) : Dolphins get (back) Minkah Fitzpatrick in trade
Zero2Cool (30-Jun) : Steelers land Jalen Ramsey via Trade
dfosterf (26-Jun) : I think it would be great to have someone like Tom Grossi or Andy Herman on the Board of Directors so he/they could inform us
dfosterf (26-Jun) : Fair enough, WPR. Thing is, I have been a long time advocate to at least have some inkling of the dynamics within the board.
wpr (26-Jun) : 1st world owners/stockholders problems dfosterf.
Martha Careful (25-Jun) : I would have otherwise admirably served
dfosterf (25-Jun) : Also, no more provision for a write-in candidate, so Martha is off the table at least for this year
dfosterf (25-Jun) : You do have to interpret the boring fine print, but all stockholders all see he is on the ballot
dfosterf (25-Jun) : It also says he is subject to another ballot in 2028. I recall nothing of this nature with Murphy
dfosterf (25-Jun) : Ed Policy is on my ballot subject to me penciling him in as a no.
dfosterf (25-Jun) : I thought it used to be we voted for the whatever they called the 45, and then they voted for the seven, and then they voted for Mark Murphy
dfosterf (25-Jun) : Because I was too lazy to change my address, I haven't voted fot years until this year
dfosterf (25-Jun) : of the folks that run this team. I do not recall Mark Murphy being subject to our vote.
dfosterf (25-Jun) : Ed Policy yay or nay is on the pre-approved ballot that we always approve because we are uninformed and lazy, along with all the rest
dfosterf (25-Jun) : Weird question. Very esoteric. For stockholders. Also lengthy. Sorry. Offseason.
Zero2Cool (25-Jun) : Maybe wicked wind chill made it worse?
Mucky Tundra (25-Jun) : And then he signs with Cleveland in the offseason
Mucky Tundra (25-Jun) : @SharpFootball WR Diontae Johnson just admitted he refused to enter a game in 41° weather last year in Baltimore because he felt “ice cold”
Zero2Cool (24-Jun) : Yawn. Rodgers says he is "pretty sure" this be final season.
Zero2Cool (23-Jun) : PFT claims Packers are having extension talks with Zach Tom, Quay Walker.
Mucky Tundra (20-Jun) : GB-Minnesota 2004 Wild Card game popped up on my YouTube page....UGH
beast (20-Jun) : Hmm 🤔 re-signing Walker before Tom? Sounds highly questionable to me.
Mucky Tundra (19-Jun) : One person on Twitter=cannon law
Zero2Cool (19-Jun) : Well, to ONE person on Tweeter
Zero2Cool (19-Jun) : According to Tweeter
Zero2Cool (19-Jun) : Packers are working on extension for LT Walker they hope to have done before camp
dfosterf (18-Jun) : E4B landed at Andrews last night
dfosterf (18-Jun) : 101 in a 60
dfosterf (18-Jun) : FAFO
Zero2Cool (18-Jun) : one year $4m with incentives to make it up to $6m
Please sign in to use Fan Shout
2025 Packers Schedule
Sunday, Sep 7 @ 3:25 PM
LIONS
Thursday, Sep 11 @ 7:15 PM
COMMANDERS
Sunday, Sep 21 @ 12:00 PM
Browns
Sunday, Sep 28 @ 7:20 PM
Cowboys
Sunday, Oct 12 @ 3:25 PM
BENGALS
Sunday, Oct 19 @ 3:25 PM
Cardinals
Sunday, Oct 26 @ 7:20 PM
Steelers
Sunday, Nov 2 @ 12:00 PM
PANTHERS
Monday, Nov 10 @ 7:15 PM
EAGLES
Sunday, Nov 16 @ 12:00 PM
Giants
Sunday, Nov 23 @ 12:00 PM
VIKINGS
Thursday, Nov 27 @ 12:00 PM
Lions
Sunday, Dec 7 @ 12:00 PM
BEARS
Sunday, Dec 14 @ 3:25 PM
Broncos
Friday, Dec 19 @ 11:00 PM
Bears
Friday, Dec 26 @ 11:00 PM
RAVENS
Saturday, Jan 3 @ 11:00 PM
Vikings
Recent Topics
2h / Green Bay Packers Talk / Zero2Cool

2h / Green Bay Packers Talk / Martha Careful

3h / Green Bay Packers Talk / Zero2Cool

18-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Zero2Cool

15-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

14-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / Mucky Tundra

10-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / beast

10-Jul / Around The NFL / Zero2Cool

6-Jul / Random Babble / Martha Careful

4-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

2-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / dfosterf

2-Jul / Fantasy Sports Talk / dfosterf

1-Jul / Green Bay Packers Talk / wpr

29-Jun / Green Bay Packers Talk / Zero2Cool

25-Jun / Around The NFL / Martha Careful

Headlines
Copyright © 2006 - 2025 PackersHome.com™. All Rights Reserved.