Jacob
  • Jacob
  • Rookie Topic Starter
15 years ago
http://packers.com/news/stories/2008/09/18/2/ 

Notebook: Finley Ready For First Action

by Mike Spofford, Packers.com
posted 09/18/2008

With Tory Humphrey's uncertain status for Sunday's game due to a knee injury, rookie No. 3 tight end Jermichael Finley is likely to be on the active 45-man roster for the first time in his career, against his hometown team, no less.

Finley, a native of Texas whose residence is in Dallas, was the Packers' third-round draft choice this past April. Having spent just three years in college, one as a redshirt, he came to Green Bay as a raw prospect with great ball skills but needing to refine his blocking.

He's made notable progress in that area and can't wait to get on the field for the first time as an NFL player on Sunday night against the Cowboys.

"I'm not a finished project," said Finley, who has been among the eight gameday inactives in the first two weeks of the season. "You just go out, keep grinding it out and get better and better. You have no choice but to block good if you're going against Aaron Kampman every day. It's going to be a good opportunity to show what I can do."

Humphrey, the No. 2 tight end behind starter Donald Lee, played through a knee sprain last Sunday, but the knee swelled up after the game. He's scheduled to practice for the first time this week on Friday.

Fullback Korey Hall is on the same schedule, and if Hall is unable to play, it will put added importance on Finley being able to contribute on special teams.

"I think this is a great opportunity for Jermichael," Head Coach Mike McCarthy said. "He's had an excellent week of practice so far. He's really taken on the challenge, and like I tell the whole team, the guys that are not up, it's not more about the position they play, it's more about the special teams.

"He needs to continue to improve in that area, and he's doing a good job of that. It's something that's very new for him."